On exhibit, through December 19, the Texas School for the Deaf (TSD) proudly invites the community to visit the school’s museum and its latest historical collection – Deaflympic medals, memorabilia, uniforms and banners - chronicling TSD members who have participated in the Deaflympic Games, since 1957.
The Deaflympics began in 1924. In 1957, the first USA team competed at the games, in Rome.
The 1957 USA track and field team included three TSD staff members at the time: Raymond Butler - TSD’s Athletic Director, Ruth Seeger – TSD PE teacher, who was later the USA women’s track and field coach from 1965 to 1989, and Sammy Oates - a 1958 TSD graduate who holds sporting records at TSD, still today, in football and track and field events.
Since 1957, TSD has had representatives at every summer Deaflympic Games, and currently boasts 103 medals earned by both past and present students and staff.
TSD hopes to add to their medal collection next month, when the Deaflympics will be held in Sofia, Bulgaria, from July 26 through August 4, 2013.
Currently, TSD has 10 participants who will be attending the 2013 Deaflympic Games, as athletes and coaches, this summer.
WHAT: TSD at the Deaflympics - on display and open to the public.
A comprehensive and fascinating exhibit chronicling the history of Texans participating in the Deaflympic Games, since 1957.
WHEN: Now through Thursday, December 19, 2013
WHERE: Heritage Center/Museum
Texas School for the Deaf
1102 South Congress Avenue
Austin, Texas 78704
MORE: To schedule a museum tour during summer hours, please contact by email: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Fall/Spring museum hours resume August 19, 2013.