Golf

News > Sports > Golf > Tringale disqualified from PGA Championship

Tringale disqualified from PGA Championship

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. (AP) — Cameron Tringale has been disqualified from last week's PGA Championship after telling the rules committee that he might have whiffed on a tap-in putt in the final round and thus signed for an incorrect score. Tringale tied for 33rd at Valhalla Golf Club. Tringale signed for a 4 on the par-3 11th hole. He says his putter swung over the ball prior to tapping in from 3 inches for a bogey. Tringale says he called the PGA of America because of the slightest doubt whether his swing over the ball should have counted as a stroke. Even though the competition is over, Tringale was disqualified under Rule 34-1-iii. Tringale forfeits the $53,000 in earnings. He also loses 37 FedEx Cup points, which could be more costly.

Golf

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Suzy Whaley is taking another crack at golf's old boy's network. More than one decade after...
INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Suzy Whaley has been elected the first female officer in PGA of America history Saturday, a...
DUBAI, United Arab Emirates (AP) — Top-ranked Rory McIlroy returned from a six-week absence to shoot a 6-under 66...
DUBAI, United Arab Emirates (AP) — Denmark's Thorbjorn Olesen and Scotland's Richie Ramsay shot 5-under 67s to...
MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) — Defending champion Adam Scott struggled in the blustery conditions at Metropolitan...